Tongariro Crossing

On 6 January 2015 by From elephants to kangaroos

tongariro3I am late on my posts but I try to write all my last steps to share with you my last weeks of my round the world trip. One of my last steps in New-Zealand was in Turangi region, in the center of the Northern island, to do one of the trek I expected the most: the Tongariro crossing. It’s ont of the most beautiful 1-day trek in the World, 19,4km long. The tramp itself is not very technich and open to everybody, but you still need a good physical condition to do it because 2 or 3 parts are more challenging.

For my part, I was dreaming about this trek. Why? Because beyond the fact that you find at the top a volcano (still active), the stones covered with lava or red earth of the volcano, you arrive in the middle of the walk in front of the emerald lakes. And these lakes made me dream. To discover these bright green lakes, it was one of my dreams during this world tour.
tongariro1So I left early in the morning at around 6:30am with Pat, 62 years Kiwi who has never really walked, and who welcomed me to his house the previous day, and wanted to do the trek for years and took advantage of the opportunity to come with me. It was under a bright shining sun that we started the crossing. Stunning scenery in front of us throughout the trek (which took us more than 8 hours), the discovery of a place like no other, the pleasure of sharing the day together although we did not know each other before, the famous breathtaking emerald lakes, the desire to turn back constantly to see how the landscape changes as we walk, the mutual care between us. And in the end, the pride of having made this trek, to have reach the end of the trek but also of this challenge together and shared this beautiful moment.

tongariro2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:

Tongariro Crossing

On 6 janvier 2015 by From elephants to kangaroos

tongariro3Je suis un peu en retard dans la publication de mes articles mais j’essaye de rattraper les dernières étapes pour vous faire partager la fin de mon tour du monde. L’une de mes dernières étapes en Nouvelle-Zélande s’est donc passée dans la région de Turangi, au centre de l’île du Nord, pour faire l’une des marches que j’attendais le plus: le Tongariro crossing. C’est l’une des 10 plus belles marches d’une journée du monde, d’une longueur de 19,4km. La marche n’est pas très technique et est ouverte à tout public, même s’il faut avoir une bonne condition physique en raison de quelques passages plus demandeurs d’effort.

Moi, cette marche me faisait rêver. Pourquoi? Parce qu’au-delà du fait que vous découvrez à son sommet le volcan (toujours actif), les pierres recouvertes de lave ou la terre rouge du volcan, vous arrivez au milieu de la marche devant les lacs d’émeraude. Et ces lacs me faisaient rêver. Découvrir ces lacs d’un vert éclatant, c’était l’un de mes rêves de tour du monde.
tongariro1Je suis donc partie le matin aux alentours de 6h30 avec Pat, un Kiwi de 62 ans qui n’a jamais vraiment marché, qui m’accueillait chez lui et qui voulait faire la marche depuis des années et qui a donc profité de l’opportunité pour venir avec moi. Et c’est sous un grand soleil brillant que nous avons entamé ce crossing. Des paysages magnifiques devant nous pendant toute la durée du trek (qui nous a pris quand même plus de 8h), la découverte d’un endroit pas comme les autres, le plaisir de partager cette journée ensemble alors qu’on ne se connaissait pas la veille, les fameux lacs émeraude à couper le souffle, l’envie de se retourner sans cesse pour voir derrière comment le paysage change au fur et à mesure que l’on avance, l’entraide entre nous. Et à la fin, la fierté d’avoir fait ce trek, d’être allés ensemble au bout de ce beau challenge et partagé ce beau moment.

tongariro2

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :